Meet Lloyd.

11 May

This is not a new story, but it is a good one lol.

We have a house in the woods. We built it a few years ago and really it isn’t even close to being completed. We love this little house in the woods and go there when we can. Since I am from the Boston area originally, I was never exposed to deer, coyote, moose and bear so the very thought of having them be near and possibly live on my land in the country has always amazed me.  I got this idea in my head (I know!) to buy one of those critter motion sensor camera deals and hang it on a tree up on our lot somewhere that we don’t go by often. I purchased a camera (190 bucks!), read the instructions, and trucked my large ass up the side of the “hill” and placed it on a tree that had been sheered off by either lightening or wind at about 5 feet. I carefully pointed the camera into an open space and then headed out.

A few weeks had gone by and we had not had the chance to go back up there and retrieve the camera. Anyone who knows me knows I am a very patient person so this did not bother me at all… Yeah. I had purchased another memory card so that way I could swap out cards but leave the camera in place. I set off up the hill with a backpack full of batteries and a memory card replacement. When I got to the spot that I thought I had left the camera, I couldn’t find it. Here I was standing in what I thought to be the very place where I had left the camera and not only could I not find the camera, but I couldn’t find the tree either!!  It was finally discovered after a few moments of panic (and a few hundred cuss words that I do not care to repeat at this time) that the tree I was looking for was actually laying down, camera down right below my feet!

The camera housing appeared to be punctured and the camera was full of water (which in case you didnt know, is bad) so I brought the entire apparatus down the hill and to the house. Unfortunately we could not view the memory card at the house because (as I failed to mention earlier) the house has no electricity or anything so I didn’t have a computer there. We had to wait until we got home to see if anything recorded in the few weeks we had been away, OR did the camera come crashing down to the forest floor 10 minutes after we walked away.

We got home and I eagerly inserted the card into my reader. There were 1400 pictures on the camera!! Sadly the first 3 were of me walking away after setting up the camera, then there were 2 more and then all black.

The 2 more were hard to understand

What was I looking at?

What could this be?

It would appear, that on 7/19/1009 at approximately 7:39 PM a black bear ATE my trail camera and in the process KNOCKED DOWN THE TREE.

Needless to say, I got the point (I got the picture!) and we did not replace the camera that was rudely eaten.

Bad Bear!

We named him Lloyd.

4 Responses to “Meet Lloyd.”

  1. stevebetz May 11, 2011 at 2:41 PM #

    I love that first picture! How come Nature just can’t behave itself. I’m sure they’re much better behaved in Alaska.

    • middleofthebed May 11, 2011 at 7:40 PM #

      Ate my camera he did!
      Yes well maybe in the next 3 years I can learn how to train bears! That way when I get to Alaska I can teach them to not eat my camera!

  2. bdale56 May 12, 2011 at 7:07 AM #

    He must have been pretty hungry to eat your camera. That would not be my first choice for a meal, and bears don’t generally go for electronics as a first course. Maybe it was an alien disguised as a bear…

    • middleofthebed May 12, 2011 at 11:08 AM #

      I have run this scenario through my head 100 times… Did I have food on my hands? Was I wearing perfume when I put it on the tree? Never did I even think of the alien scenario. Now it is so obvious to me! It could have been an alien dressed as a bear! What is worse… It could have been a turkey dressed as a bear… Now THAT is a thought that keeps me up!

Leave a Reply

