There is nothing in your sinus cavity.

5 May

A few times a week, I take my hour long lunch break doing absolutely nothing. Well, that is not really true. First, I drive to the local grocery store, then I make a delicious salad, grab a book and eat it in my car. No matter what the weather is, I will sit and eat/read in my car for the entire hour.  I have been having this ritual for about 4 years. It isn’t every day, and I am not completely antisocial.  Most days I take my lunch at the gym with a coworker and we run it off or lift weights.  I have come to really enjoy these moments sitting in my car, eating and reading a good book. I have actually red HUNDREDS of books this way.

This image was borrowed from sodahead.com

This image was borrowed from sodahead.com

I also enjoy watching people in their lives. Something about the grocery store parking lot I think makes people feel invisible. It is the same as the car windows make you invisible enough to pick your nose at a light. “A-ha! I am currently invisible because I am behind the glass of my front seat, therefore I can pick my nose and fear no ridicule!” — Wrong! We can see you and you’re gross. I see this in the grocery store parking lot to some degree. There are not hundreds of people walking around the parking lot with their fingers jammed up into their sinus cavities, but to some level they are doing things that would be deemed inappropriate for public viewing; like threatening a child,  calling their lover, fighting with someone and my favorite: picking their butts.

Sometimes I like to watch people and try to make up their scenario. That man is running into the grocery store to pick up a bottle of wine and strawberries to dazzle the woman he is in love with who isn’t his wife. Those two met in the parking lot for a clandestine meeting at the grocery store. Or the elderly woman who has literally just backed in and out of the same space 30 times. Her kids have been trying to take her license away from her for 3 years.

I guess you could say that my imagination runs wild. The important lesson you should be gaining from this particular blog post is this: There can always be someone watching you and if you are not careful, you may turn into an anonymous blog posting.

3 Responses to “There is nothing in your sinus cavity.”

  1. stevebetz May 6, 2011 at 4:17 AM #

    I think that’s a great idea — I had gotten into a pretty good rhythm of once a week going to a diner and getting a sandwich and reading my book during lunch. It was wonderful. I moved onto a different job and haven’t re-established that — might be time again. 😉

    • middleofthebed May 10, 2011 at 2:25 AM #

      If we lived closer, not only would we polish off a bottle while hitting some balls off an embankment (like how i added the embankment?) we would get a sandwich and a book and just be…

      Then again, you get your morning walks to take it all in 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There is nothing in your sinus cavity. « Dig women - May 5, 2011

    […] the original: There is nothing in your sinus cavity. VN:F [1.9.3_1094]please wait…Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)VN:F [1.9.3_1094]Rating: 0 (from 0 […]

Leave a Reply

