Hermit! Hermit!

28 Apr

So I come here, daily, and write my thoughts down for the entire world to read. Knowing full well that they wont, but they could (that’s the real point here). It is like my guilty pleasure. I can be honest with you, and you will not judge me. (well perhaps you are judging but for the most part I remain completely oblivious to it and it is divine)

Speaking of guilty pleasures, husband and I just recently joined the rest of the world and got a cable box with DVR. At first this foreign concept seemed appalling. I mean the thought of recording all of those shows that you would otherwise miss if you had a social life, well that was just unheard of since the day VCR’s went out of style. If we missed a television show, we missed it. But now… no, I don’t have to miss it and I don’t have to look like a complete nerd for rushing out of an event or something so I can get home to watch my favorite shows. (yeah shut up.)

Imaged borrowed from http://www.cinderzelda.com

I think there may be a point however, when it becomes too much. For example, last night, husband and I sat down to watch television together after a day of crap. I had puppy school earlier and was exhausted and drained, and he had just come home from being out with his motorcycle. He says for me to check our recordings. I pushed the button and in just two days time, we had filled the memory to 30% remaining! WHO DOES THAT??

I went through last night and checked scheduled recordings and cleaned up the DVR so that only things we would really watch remain taped. I even deleted some of his schedules. ha! I guess the result of that is a whole different blog post!

4 Responses to “Hermit! Hermit!”

  1. Stacey April 28, 2011 at 2:54 PM #

    This is why we have 2 DVRs in our house. His and mine. Mine stays relatively clean. His is 94% full at any given time.

    • middleofthebed April 29, 2011 at 11:42 AM #

      Wait… What is this? You can have more than one? You can tape more than 2 shows at a time? Don’t leave me hanging lol

  2. stevebetz April 28, 2011 at 5:36 PM #

    Hah! I actually contend that with our DVR, we watch *less* tv than those dark pre-DVR days. We have a couple of things that we like to watch and by recording them we can chill out on *our* schedule. You can also argue that the quality of what you watch goes up since you don’t have to spend any time channel-surfing.

    • middleofthebed April 28, 2011 at 6:17 PM #

      OH! I like the way you think. What I didn’t mention in the post was that I filled up the DVR with Alaskan TV shows. Not sure if that confirms your argument of quality vs. quantity or not. lol
      Trying to kill 2 birds with one stone by trying to make a move to Alaska appear as my husband’s idea.

Leave a Reply

