Quick Update and then later a better one.

21 Mar

Good Morning!

If you follow me on Twitter, you would know that yesterday I went on a road trip. Round trip it was only 250 miles but it was 250 miles through Massachusetts on 495 and the Pike. If you live around here you are now clicking your teeth and shaking your head in sympathy. You also know that those 250 miles, may as well be 1,000 miles because driving in Massachusetts is a contact sport not to be taken lightly.  In fact, the only thing worse than driving in Mass is driving in Florida where all the RETIRED Massachusetts drivers go to age.

Oddly enough the ride down was fine, I guess MA people don’t really start to motivate until well after noon, which really worked out for me because I was on the road at 9am. I personally, would rather road trip with a human although I did have my dog with me on the ride. He wasn’t very good company, he didn’t like my music choices plus he slept the entire ride home and had gas from the turkey club sandwich I got him at the rest area. Who knew?

There is something to be said about taking that road trip every so often, even alone (or with your dog as it may be).  You go through a range of emotions from anger, to sadness. For example, I was pissed off at the Ford Windstar that cut me off and then slammed on his breaks, and I felt very sad for the dead coyote on the side of the road.

Or maybe that is a bad example?

Whatever the case, it definitely gave me time to think and reflect.  Incidentally, I reflected on myself a little as I ran at top speed through the parkinglot of the rest area to find the bathroom because I misjudged the size of my aging bladder.

Overall the road trip didn’t suck. I gave me some alone time, bonding time with the little dog, and time for me to listen to those songs on the iPod that you don’t tell anyone you downloaded. Too bad it didn’t give me time to put together a blog post eh?

I hope the rest of you enjoyed your weekend. I promise more content later today. (ETA – maybe.)

2 Responses to “Quick Update and then later a better one.”

  1. maggie may March 21, 2011 at 6:56 PM #

    i so miss road trips. as soon as our baby is a little older!

    • middleofthebed March 21, 2011 at 7:14 PM #

      Yes! Road trips with little feet can be extremely long (and rather excruciating wouldn’t you say?) but you know, you can still take the solo road trip, even if its just to the corner store. Its good for the soul 🙂

Leave a Reply

